The National Academy of Engineering (ANIU) is a non-profit civil society, which was founded by a group of Uruguayan professionals.

The first drafts of its statutes date from September 1964. However, the extraordinary general assembly of constitution was held on October 20, 1971 and the first act was signed by engineers Federico Capurro, Ponciano Torrado, Germán Villar, Eladio Dieste, Juan Maglia , Julio Ricaldoni, Agustín Maggi, Juan Patetta, Osvaldo Parrillo, Rodolfo Fonseca, Enrique Penadés, Juan Molfino, Juana Pereyra, Oscar Maggiolo, Julio Roig, Augusto Hareau, José Fosalba and Rodolfo Arocena.

On June 20, 1972, the Ministry of Education and Culture approved the statutes and granted legal status to the National Academy of Engineering, constituting its formal recognition.


At present, ANIU integrates engineers from all specialties, chosen by their peers based on their professional or academic trajectory.

Its main objective is to contribute to the progress and well-being of society, mainly through the dissemination of experiences and the generation of information that helps create new proposals on relevant topics in various fields of engineering.


To fulfill its mission, it organizes conferences and technical panels, sets up working groups, promotes and stimulates research, and awards prizes on specific topics.

In fact, one of the most significant activities of the Academy is the annual Thesis and Final Paper Competition, where awards are given to the most outstanding undergraduate and graduate theses in all areas of engineering. The contest recognizes not only technical quality, but also innovative contents linked to the national reality.

ANIU also works to promote the exchange of information and dialogue with society in relation to science and technology, and to position engineering in the development of the community.